Music and Lyrics by
Stephen Sondheim

Book by
James Lapine

1986 Old Globe Theatre Production
1987 Broadway Production
1988 National Touring Company
1990 London Production
1991 Television Production

Musical Numbers

Act One

  • "Prologue: Into the Woods" - Narrator and Company
  • "Cinderella at the Grave" - Cinderella and Cinderella's Mother
  • "Hello, Little Girl" - Wolf and Little Red Ridinghood
  • "I Guess This Is Goodbye" - Jack
  • "Maybe They're Magic" - Baker and Baker's Wife
  • "I Know Things Now" - Little Red Ridinghood
  • "A Very Nice Prince" - Cinderella and Baker's Wife
  • "First Midnight" - Company
  • "Giants in the Sky" - Jack
  • "Agony" - Cinderella's Prince and Rapunzel's Prince
  • "It Takes Two" - Baker's Wife and Baker
  • "Stay With Me" - Witch and Rapunzel
  • "On the Steps of the Palace" - Cinderella
  • "Ever After" - Narrator and Company

Act Two

London Production adds new song "Our Little World" (sung by Witch and Rapunzel) after "Maybe They're Magic"

Another MIDI

Tony Awards

  • Best Score (Stephen Sondheim)
  • Best Book (James Lapine)
  • Best Actress in a Musical (Joanna Gleason)

Drama Desk Awards

  • Best Musical
  • Best Lyrics (Stephen Sondheim)
  • Best Book for a Musical (James Lapine)
  • Featured Actor in a Musical (Robert Westenberg)
  • Featured Actress in a Musical (Joanna Gleason)

Other Awards

  • New York Drama Critics Circle Award for Best Musical